January 11th

IMG_1310.JPG

It was clear really quickly today what my Photo of the Day would be. Not exactly at around 7:45am though,  when I heard about David Bowie’s passing on the radio. I was shocked to say the least. Hadn’t there been reports everywhere about the release of his new album just recently? And about his 69th birthday? And now he was dead? I found it unbelievable and thought it was maybe one of these celebrity death hoaxes. Checked Twitter. No, unfortunately, it wasn’t.

David Bowie is no more and another great one has left us forever. The good thing about artists like him: even if they are gone, their art will stay with us.

No, I’m not a die-hard Bowie fan. But I think you don’t have to be, to appreciate what he has achieved during his decades long career, how influental he was and how many people he has inspired.  He was so much more than just a pop star. And he was definitely more than what was one of his greatest – and mainstreamiest hits – Let’s Dance. Or China Girl. I was never really that much into these songs.

My all time favorite song ever by David Bowie is – you guess it – Sound and Vision (and not Sounds and Visions as some moron radio host said today. Get your facts straight, dude!)

I own this record as a vinyl single. Plan was to drag it out today to take a photo. I wanted it to be my photo for today. But then I realized that I don’t even know where that box with all my vinyls is. I could’ve gone searching for hours, but I didn’t want to. And so I cheated just a little bit, pulled up a photo of the single cover online, and – no – did NOT insert an internet photo here. I took a photo with my cell phone from the screen. I’m sure you’ll forgive me for that. HOW the photo came together is not really important today.

As I said, Sound and Vision is my favorite Bowie song. But it’s also rather high in my all-time-fave songs list. In my personal song Hall of Fame, so to say. That’s how much I love it. I remember, it must have been in the early 80s maybe. A time when we didn’t have any clue about internet… computers… mp3s. We still bought records in record stores. Remember record stores? And how we had to save our money to buy a new record and how exciting it was to go, buy it, hold it in our sweaty little hands, take it home and play it?

Problem was, that by the time I actually really discovered the song, it wasn’t available in regular record stores anymore. So what’s a girl to do now? No Google, Amazon, iTunes, Spotify there to help me out. And I didn’t know anyone who was into that kind of music or that song who would’ve maybe swapped with me: one of my singles in exchange for their copy of Sound of Vision.

Luckily though, there was a thing like record fairs back then. I think they are even still a thing today. They are called Record and CD fair now. Whatever. They took place every 6 months or so in my aerea and so I went searching on fairs for that record. To no avail at first. Until one fine day when I had almost lost hope, I found it, almost by accident, on one of the smaller fairs with not so many sellers.

I couldn’t believe my luck! There it was! And I played it up and down from then on.

Later I got the CD of course, and now have it as an mp3 on my computer and it’s a regular guest on my playlist. But I will never forget how I went on a hunt for it. Because I loved it so much. And still love it to this day.

Bowie has written a ton of songs. A ton of great songs that are still relevant to this day and will still be relevant in 40 years from now, I’m sure.Many of them I don’t even know. As I said, I’m no Bowie die-hard and no expert. I actually only know those songs that the mainstream audience knows and likes some of them. That’s it. Nevertheless I’m fully aware of what incredibly outstanding artist he was. Even if you’re not a fan, there’s no way to say today “I don’t give a rats ass about him.” Not if you’re a fan of music in general.

So… one day they will all be gone… the great artists and musicians of our time. The McCartneys, Jaggers, Dylans, … And then? I’ve tried to think about someone of today’s younger generation who will be still relevant and be called a hero and legend in 30, even 40 years. So far I couldn’t think of one. Help me out if you want.

And all the X-Factors, The Voices, American Idols can’t help out with that.

So, in honor of Ziggy Stardust… Major Tom… – of David Bowie – here’s the most awesomest of his songs: Sound and Vision. I played it LOUD earlier and shed a tear.

#ripdavidbowie

Listen & Enjoy.

One thought on “January 11th

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    I feel your pain not being able to find the item you want to photograph. I think it’s ok to use this pic. I wasn’t familiar with the song you love but have listened to it and like it. My favorite is “Star Man”.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

