January 19

IMG_1376

Meet My New Baby

I’ve got a new camera today! Well, no, that’s not 100% true. Yes, for me the camera is new, but it’s actually a used one.

It’s a Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, released by Canon in – I think – 2010, and was quite revolutionary back then because it was the first camera of its kind with what they called a “super zoom”. Never before any other camera had an optical zoom  of 24-840mm!!

If I wanted to buy a new one on Amazon right now, I’d still have to pay EUR 368. Amazon USA offers it new for $550. Amazon Marketplace Germany has used ones from EUR 162 up until EUR 320.

I paid EUR 50. Including 3 batteries and a charger.

Not bad, eh?

Well… it’s not that I don’t have a camera. I have a pretty good camera: a Canon 60D SLR. So why the need for such a point-and-shoot you ask? Well… Sometimes when we’re going on a weekend trip e.g. to London or just taking a walk at the lake here at home, I don’t always feel like carrying the “big” equipment.

Or it’s simply too heavy when you travel with carry-on. In such cases I use my iPhone to take pics. But while an iPhone really takes good quality photos (for a “phone” anyway), I was always looking for something “in the middle”. No pro camera but also a bit more than a phone camera.

But even the point-and-shoot cameras – if they are halfway decent – don’t come cheap and in the end I wasn’t willing to pay hundreds of Euros for it.

Then my friend’s Dad got himself the newest Powershot model and my friend suggested to ask her Dad if he was willing to sell his old one.

He was. And for a ridiculous price at that! I didn’t think twice when he asked if EUR 50 would be okay. HELL YES!!!

For the nerds, here are a few technical details:

  • massive wide-angle (24-840mm) optical zoom lens
  • 2.7-inch vari-angle LCD
  • 14.1 megapixels
  • 9 autofocus points
  • ISO max. 1.600
  • Aperture range max. F2.7 – F5.8
  • Shutter speed max. 1/3.200
  • Autofocus and manual
  • built-in flash
  • optical image stabilization
  • image aspect ratio: 4:3 | 16:9
  • USB 2.0

You can also take 720p HD stereo videos with it (max. 30 min. length).

We might be on a short trip this upcoming weekend (more about that on the weekend) so that will be a good opportunity to try it out.

However, this camera won’t be suitable to take concert photos because for these conditions, especially in the small, dark clubs I’m normally shooting, you don’t get far with it. But I didn’t buy it for that purpose… I have my 60D for these situations.

So… stay tuned for a review and definitely the one or other photo!

 

3 thoughts on “January 19

  1. Pingback: February 27 | heidisblog2016

Leave a Reply

