January 22

   

 Traveling on the Dutch Autobahn

As I had mentioned in an earlier post, S and I will spend a weekend at the Dutch coast – in the Zeeland region – one of the most popular aereas for visitors. 

No, we don’t expect beach weather during this time of the year (we arrived here to pouring rain and chilly 3 centigrate Celsius (that’s 37.4F). All we want is to relax, see the beach, dunes and the North Sea and eat yummy stuff!

Fact is: we come here for more than 20 years, introduced to the small village of Scharendijke by a former neighbor of my parents, who owned a vacation home nearby.

Scharendijke and the surrounding locations like Renesse, Burgh Haamstede or Ouddorp are especially known for their wonderful, wide, clean beaches. It’s also kite surfer’s and scuba diver’s little paradise.

Most importantly though: you get, hands down, THE BEST spare ribs in the world here. More about that another day.

For now we’ve checked into  Fletcher’s Landgoedhotel which looks very lovely. 

BUT: while unpackig my bag I realized that I forgot my toiletery bag at home! πŸ˜³πŸ™„πŸ˜Ÿ. No tooth brush, no facial cream (and I can’t use just any cream πŸ˜”), no hair brush, no getting-rid-of-makeup-wipes (is there an actual word for them?), no deodorant, no hair products… nothing.  

Awesome!

Ok, a hotel normally provides with shower gel and shampoo. And also with these little tooth brush/-paste kits.  
Thing is: I hate manual tooth brushes. It’s beyond me, how  not everyone uses electrical ones by now. How can you even think your teeth get clean by brushing manual?? But ok. Guess I have to endure that now for two days.

Worst part is the cream part though. The one I need for my extremely sensitive and dry skin is only available in certain pharmacies. I could try the one in Renesse. Maybe I’m lucky. Highly doubt it though.  πŸ˜•

However: this all will not ruin my mood and the fun we’re goung to have!!!

By the way: we’re celebrating our 28th best-buds-and-partners-in-crime Anniversary today! Congrats to us! πŸΎπŸΈπŸŽ‰πŸŽˆπŸ‘­

2 thoughts on “January 22

Leave a Reply

