February 29

Here I am on March 3, way behind with the blog. That happens when you’re back on ‘regular schedule’.

I was back at work after more or less 4 weeks this Monday, feeling almost completely well again, despite still coughing every now and then (but mostly at night :-/) and despite a still irritating voice (when will THAT ever get better, I wonder?)

After work I had planned to see two movies. Must be the first time since… I don’t even remember… that I would see a movie without my best (movie) buddy. I had spoken to her if it was ok to continue going to the cinema alone and she said yes OF COURSE.

Saw two movies that played back-to-back at one of the older independent theaters (from 1955) in Essen: the Eulenspiegel theater.  They have  – compared to other independant theaters – a rather large auditorium (400 seats) and only one screen. They also have a Wurlitzer Silent Movie Organ (they occasionally show silent movies).

Anyway… this Monday I saw first the movie Brooklyn, starring Oscar-nominated Saoirse Ronan, playing an Irish immigrant in New York, trying to get used to her new life in America, who falls in love with a guy. But then she has to go back to Ireland because of a familiy issue… and suddenly finds herself torn between these two lifes and has to choose which one she wants.

I liked that movie very much! One thing that bothered me a bit though: for some reason I wasn’t into Tony (those who know the story, know who I’m talking about). He was nice and sweet and seemed like a really good guy… but to me – and that might only be me – he also came across as a bit of a simpleton, to put it that way. I might be totally wrong. I’m not sure if it was the dubbing. I’d have to see the original movie to hear the guy speak. Yes there was nothing wrong with him, but for some reason I always kept waiting for something to come that WAS wrong with him. Hard to explain.

SPOILER STARTS
I found myself wishing she’d stay in Ireland with Jim. I’m probably the only one though. I see that life in Ireland wasn’t her life anymore… that she’d be stuck in a small town with all the small town gossip and that she also had to break free from her mother. But still… I couldn’t see her attraction for Tony because to me, that guy wasn’t attractive. Stupid. I know.
SPOILER ENDS

Still a very good movie, no doubt, with great acting all around. J will let me know if the book is as good or even better 🙂

Second movie was Mustang. The storyline, taken from Imdb: “Early summer. In a village in northern Turkey, Lale and her four sisters are walking home from school, playing innocently with some boys. The immorality of their play sets off a scandal that has unexpected consequences. The family home is progressively transformed into a prison; instruction in homemaking replaces school and marriages start being arranged. The five sisters who share a common passion for freedom, find ways of getting around the constraints imposed on them.”

There are very controversy discussions about the movie – also from people who (claim to) know about life in rural Turkey. There are those who say that the movie is very unrealistic and only made to feed typical Western stereotypes about how horrible life for girls/women in Turkey is. And others who say, the story is pretty realistic for the most part.

I can’t judge. I’m not even sure if it was meant that this was 100% realistic. It wasn’t a documentary. It felt, to me, at least in parts, quite realistic though. I only had some logic issues with the fact how these girls ran around the house often half naked, in their underwear or swim suits or night gowns, while at the same time their family, especially their uncle, was portrayed as VERY conservative. There were also hints that the uncle might abuse some of the girls. So would girls move around like they did in a house where they are abused?

Ohter than that I liked it and found it heartbreaking. Really felt for these poor girls.

SPOILER:
I was so glad that the last two (two were in an arranged marriage, one had killed herself) got out. Kept wondering if the young girl’s teacher could help them. I don’t think there would be a chance that their familiy wouldn’t search for them and not give up until they’ve found them.

 

 

 

One thought on “February 29

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    So are you completely swamped at work or do you have people who can keep up with your work when you’re out?

    I’m reading Brooklyn now so I’ll let you know how he’s described in the book. In the movie he sounded like a typical New Yorker. Kinda like John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever.

    Whaaaaaat??? Stay in Ireland with Jim!!!!! OMG no!!!! I was screaming at her in my head not to break poor Tony’s heart and to live a life of misery with her and her mother in Jim’s house. No. Not the life for her. Uh uh. No way.

    Jim…smh…

    As for Mustang and how realistic it is, the woman behind it and the girls that acted in it spoke to us at the AFI Fest and said it was completely realistic. All or most of them are from Turkey so I guess they would know. Of course not ALL of Turkey is this way. Just certain neighborhoods or communities or families. The purpose was to shed light on the fact that these repressive ways of treating women DO STILL EXIST, people! Get your heads out of your asses! (Not you, the people whose comments you read.)

    I loved that movie.

    Agree about the ending. What about their adventures getting to that soccer match or whatever it was with the nice guy…think he drove a truck or something. I was so relieved when he came to their rescue at the end! Whew!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

