March 6

AdobePhotoshopExpress_2016_03_06_19_28_54

Music Music Music

Listened to both Ida Gard albums that we bought yesterday.

Gotta say, after a first listen, I like the ‘Doors’ album, that came out 2013, a bit better then ‘Womb’, that came out 2015.

But I don’t like to judge albums after listening to them only once.

Curious about what S has to say about them.

It was good though, to check out new music and a new artist again (new to us. Ida makes music for quite some years now.)

By the way… speaking of “new music”… can we speak about cover versions?

Nothing against cover versions in general. Not at all. It’s just that there are two specifically, that irritate the living hell out of me. And I’m not sure if I’m just too old for that kind of shit or if these cover versions ARE bad.

Of course tastes are different, right? And at least one version has topped the German charts which means there are a lot of people who have liked that god-awful song. (Which doesn’t automatically mean it’s good, of course.)

I’m talking about “Ain’t Nobody (Loves Me Better) ” by Felix Jaehn feat. Jamsmine Thomson. If you don’t know it, check it out if you must, so that you know what I’m talking about.

If you’re not 16 years anymore, you might know the original song by Chaka Khan.

And if you know the original and still say that the Felix Jaehn cover version, where some 15 year old teenager with NO F-ING VOICE is pretending to “sing” this song, is the better version, I don’t even want to talk to you anymore. Thing is though, that the cover is a HUGE chart breaker. Like… really really big.  I would like to know: do those kids who have bought it, even know the original? And if they do, are they like “this is uncool”? I would really like to know.

I mean… been there, done that when I was 14. I remember a cover version of the song “Sheila” (original by Tommy Roe from 1962). The new version was recorded in 1978 by a band named Rosetta Stone that no one remembers anymore (for a reason). Thing is: that cover was a hit back then and I LOVED it. My mom was disgusted, kept saying that the original was so much better and I thought she was just old and uncool and didn’t have any clue about music.

And now I’m here, bitching about the cover version of a song that the younger folk loves and I’m acting like an old, uncool Mommy with no taste in music. Is that so?

Whatever, that’s not all. The next cover disaster is out now and I’m even more shocked. Some idiot thought it would be a good idea to SLAUGHTER Tracy Chapman’s wonderful song “Fast Car”. OMG!

Guess it’s again by some DJ (I have a feeling that DJs are the new Rock Stars these days :-/) featuring some voiceless female. Check it out here.

And this is the original. It’s one of my all-time favorite songs ever.

How can it not be against the law to destroy such an awesome piece of music?

Or is that just the crusty old me who’s not able to appreciate that times change and that old songs can still be good if they are getting a modern makeover?

But even IF it’s just me… I don’t care. I hate both of these covers with the fire of a thousand suns.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “March 6

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    Well, it took almost a solid hour of trying to get your blog and then the songs to load via the laptop. Finally gave up and switched the iPhone over to LTE data where, of course, everything loaded lightening fast. Sigh.

    After all that hassle I ended up hating both versions of both songs, but I get your point.

    And now I’m completely irritated and annoyed and it’s my bedtime so GOOD. NIGHT!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

