March 23

At The Movies

Kino2

Every once in a while it’s time again to see a movie at one of the smaller (but nonetheless charming) independent movie theaters. The Casablanca in Bochum is among our favorites. No, in some auditoriums the old chairs are not really comfy… but they usually have a really good program. We’ve seen quite some movies here over time.

Today we saw Room, adapted from the novel with the same name, written by Emma Donoghue that was a huge success.

I have tried to read the book but couldn’t get into it. It’s written from the perspective of a 5 year old boy and therefore also written in child language. I’m sure it gets better after a while but I couldn’t get past the first couple pages. I’m sure I’ve missed out on a great book.

I was glad though, when I heard that this was turned into a movie because I was sure that the movie perspective would work better for me. And it turned out I was right.

All I can say is WOW!!! Amaaaaazing story… harrowing at times… heart-wrenching… and I’d say if you see and and don’t shed a tear at some point, you don’t have a heart. The acting was OUTSTANDING. I see why Brie Larson won the Oscar for this. But how absolutely brilliant was little Jacob Trembley who played Jack ?!? Wow!

Loved (almost) everything about the movie. Also loved how it was filmed from the little boy’s perspective and how the camera often caught close-ups of his facial expressions and emotions.

The only time I frowned a bit was – SPOILER STARTS HERE – when Old Nick carried Jack, who was hidden in that rolled up carpet – out of Room and never once really checked whether the kid was really dead. I found that unbelievable. Why would he actually listen to Ma and follow her instruction to not look at her boy? But that’s just a minor thing and it absolutely didn’t ruin the movie for me – SPOILER ENDS HERE.

It actually took a while until we could go back to regular chatting when we left the theater. It’s a movie that stays with you for a while.

Go and see it if you can!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “March 23

Leave a Reply

