May 20

Another One Bites The Dust

IMG_3804

and another one gone and anohter one gone, another one bites the dust.

If you read my blog regularly, you may remember this post from March 9 where I was wondering whether this shop owner had STILL or ALREADY his Christmas deco up. Which was of course a joke… it could only be ‘still’. And I was wondering whether the guy still cared for his shop.

And now this: they are closing on May 31. Which doesn’t come as a surprise really, but it’s still sad. It was one of these long-established businesses… not a chain but still run by the owner in the x-th generation. It follows a sad tradition in Velbert, where more and more shops go out of business… and aren’t followed by new ones.

It’s a vicious cycle. Velbert has become more and more unattractive for shoppers, there are many larger cities and especially big malls around, where people prefer to shop. And therefore, local business keeps dying which makes it even more difficult for those who WANT to shop in Velbert.

But a recent study has shown, that malls are by now hugely popular and there are opening more of more of them. At the same time, people are complaining about individual owner-run shops going out of business. Yeah… you have to decide. If you don’t want these shops to die, stop shopping at the malls… or at least shop less at malls and more local. I enjoy a mall every now and then as much as the next person. But still I’m the one who shops in Velbert halfway regularly. But it will become more and more difficult.

3 thoughts on “May 20

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    Very sad indeed. Speaking of people leaving xmas crap up though, there’s a house on my way to work that still has a huge Santa Claus in the window. As I sit there at the red light my mind starts wandering. What if the person that lives there died before Christmas AND NO ONE KNOWS!!!!! What if his or her body is decomposing behind those closed curtains?

    Like

    Reply
    1. Heidisblog2016 Post author

      I can totally see why you’d think that. I’d think that, too. We hear it all the time: people who have lived a lonely life and lie dead in their house for weeks… months… before anyone notices.

      Like

      Reply
  2. The Intrepid Angeleno

    My mom is afraid that’s what will happen to her and I’m like MOM. I call you every day and if you don’t answer the phone after 30 minutes of trying to get you I send Jerry over to see if you’re ok. If I can’t find him I call the fire department. Don’t worry. You will not lie rotting in your house. 😀

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

