June 1

20 Years and Counting

IMG_4071

It was 20 years ago today – on June 1st, 1996 – that I had my first day at my company…. and moved to where I live now in the process.

Time flies. An overused term but nevertheless very true. I can’t believe it’s 20 years. And in the first two years I was sure I wouldn’t make it to three since I had a total a-hole boss. Thankfully he quit before I did (that day I celebrated with a bottle of champagne) and now I’m still here, still in the HR department, and if things continue like they do, I don’t mind still being here when it’s time to retire. Not everything is always perfect. But that would be the case with 99.9% of other companies as well. There are always things you like and don’t like anywhere. The good parts outweight the not so good parts and so I can say that it makes me a little bit proud to still be here and still doing well.

I’m sure that other companies have more fancy gifts and benefits for their long-time employees, but still I can’t really complain. Got this gift basket that included things like red- and white wine, pasta, olives, olive oil and white balsamico (all on my request… it’s in the end me who orders these baskets for other employees and so I told the guy exactly what I wanted :-D). I also got a 100 Euro voucher for eating out at a place of my choice and 200 Euro in cash.

Also: the 1st of June is the official begin of summer for the meteorologists. Guess June didn’t care about that and sent the most god-awful of weather our way. For days now we’re getting more rain in some areas than we can handle. Especially some parts of Bavaria are drowning. Literally, since people have died in their flooded homes or in accidents. Destruction all around.

https://i2.wp.com/www.tagesspiegel.de/images/hochwasser-in-bayern/13677044/1-format43.jpg

(above pic taken from the internet)

But it’s not only there… also here, e.g. Düsseldorf, was hit pretty hard these last days.

We are hit by constant thunderstorms followed by downpours of extraordinairy measures. All combined with crazy humidity. So far it looks like things might get a bit better on Sunday, but that’s not sure yet.

IMG_4073

So far, in Velbert, we’re doing good. Lots of rain, huge puddles of water on the streets, but no serious floodings. Let’s hope and pray it stays that way.

And lastly.. , no, I promised not stop talking about it for now… but I won’t talk. Just post a photo of what’s attached to my fridge again 🙂 ❤

IMG_4074

2 thoughts on “June 1

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    Happy Anniversaryyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!

    June 1996. That was my first summer living in Los Angeles. I was dirt poor. My bills were still behind from the move. I was wondering if I’d ever get ahead of them. But I digress.

    Congratulations on your special day! A day I shall never see unless I work until I’m in my 70s, which is highly possible I guess in this day and age. But let’s not think about it..

    Very cool that you could pick your own gift basket!!!! And cash and restaurant gift cards are always well received. Very, very cool! Definitely better than the dumb clock most companies, mine included, hand out for certain anniversaries. Ours might be the 5-year clock so I can look forward to a clock in August 2019. ROFL. For our 10-year anniversary we get a check for $3,000.00 so I look forward to that in 2023. Hahahaha.

    Sorry about all your rain (whatever rain is…I have no clue). Terrible all the flooding.

    Congrats on your tickets! Only 3 months til your next performance!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

