July 30

The 70s Weekend

Haven’t done anything of substance yesterday and today, other than reading, doing a little Streetteam work, updating the blog… and listening to the radio aaaaall day long. And a station I don’t normally listen to. WDR 4. No really… I’ve turned to be a WDR 4 listener. At least at the moment. I know I know. Shut up. My excuse is, that they are airing a 70s music special from Fri 14h till Mon 6am.

OMG! I’m such a SUCKER for good ol’ 70s music. And not just one genre. From Deep Purple to Gloria Gaynor, from Earth Wind & Fire to Albert Hammond, from Electric Light Orchestra to ABBA, from Hot Chocolate to Supertramp, from Suzy Quatro to The Sweet (my first musical love), from Boney M to Barclay James Harvest, from Donna Summer to Pink Floyd, from Kiss to The Carpenters… you name it.

I have always loved that music… it’s what I grew up with. It’s what was played at home on my parents’ stereo, it’s what we listened to on the radio. So many memories… No musical era does to me, what the 70s do. Yet I don’t get to listen to that stuff very often. The more I enjoy that now. Can’t get enough of it.

But I HAD to leave the apartment once to walk up to the grocery. That’s when I took my photo for today. Nothing exciting. Only the Velbert skyline (cough). 😉

IMG_5406

One thought on “July 30

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    Ahhhh the 70s! What a great time to be a kid. There was a lot of good music fo’ sho’ but please, CHANGE THE STATION! CHANGE THE STATION! whenever The Carpenters come on. In honor of this blog replying session I’ve pulled up a 1970s playlist on Apple Music. Currently playing: Wild World by Cat Stevens.Now Elton’s Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting.

    Cool picture!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

