September 23

Köttbullar

It’s been a while… years! … that I’ve been to IKEA. Nothing against IKEA, it’s just that I don’t shop for furniture all too often. And for the other useful and deco stuff they have… I prefer to buy that in shops that are closer in my reach and that are not exactly the huge furniture shop that all IKEAs are.

But S wanted to look for something specific and so I stepped into an IKEA after what seemed ages.

Of course we ended up in their restaurant. And of course I had to try Köttbullar. Because… believe it or not.. I’m probably the only person my age who has NOT eaten Köttbullar ever! I know, it’s unbelievable.

The nice thing in an IKEA restaurant is, that they tell you how many calories each of their meals have. And so I was glad to learn that Köttbullar with broccoli and mash had only, um, 945 kcal :-/ Yeah. S and her Schnitzel with fries came in at a skinny 500+ kcal. WTF??? Schnitzel with fries has almost half the calories that some meatballs with sauce and mash has. Interesting.

That only meant that if I chose Köttbullar, that’d be it, eating-wise, for the rest of the day. But hell… who knew when I would be back at IKEA again and I couldn’t leave without eating these damn meatballs at least ONCE.

And let me say that I can now totally understand why they are so craazy popular. Because they taste awesome!!! I was surprised at how well that whole meal tasted. For some reason I expected the broccoli to be cooked to death and soft and the mash to be tasteless. But far from it. Everything was so very tasty! And those little meatballs were truly excellent.

I was so stuffed after I had finished, there wouldn’t have been any chance to eat anything for the rest of the day.

Good news: I didn’t gain any weight from it. Yay!

If you happen to shop at IKEA and are one of those rare species who hasn’t tried Köttbullar yet, you really should change that. It’s highly recommended.

In Sweden, köttbullar [ˈɕœtːbɵlar] are made with ground beef or a mix of ground beef, pork and sometimes veal, sometimes including bread crumbs soaked in milk, finely chopped (fried) onions, some broth and often including cream. They are seasoned with white pepper or allspice and salt.[8][9] Swedish meatballs are traditionally served with gravy, boiled potatoes, lingonberry jam, and sometimes fresh pickled cucumber.[8] Traditionally, they are small, around 1 inch (2.5 cm) in diameter.[10]
                                                                                                                                                                  Thanks Wikipedia

One thought on “September 23

Leave a Reply

