October 30

Good Art, Good Friends, Good Food

It was a Sunday, filled with only good things. First good thing was when our dear friend U arrived around noon. Us three girls then took off to a vernissage. No, nothing super fancy that takes place in a gallery where only artsy people make smart-artsy talk, drink Champagne and eat Horsd’œuvre.

It took place in the rooms of the SPD (local office of one of the big political partys in Germany). It had absolutely nothing to do with any political statement. As far as I know they regularly (?) host such events in their public rooms.

One of the artists displaying their work was S’s friend N, who’s an art student at the University in Essen. We’ve been to another exhibition where some of her work was on display back in March. Please click here for a refresher or if you missed that post.

It were especially those interesting looking figurines in all their amazing detail that had caught our eye. She brought those again (different ones than in March) but this exhibition here concentrated more on her painting.

I liked especially this work of her below. Now let me say that I am neither an art expert nor is this style my cup of tea at all. But I can ASSURE you, that this photo I took – no photo actually- does the real deal justice because it looked GORGEOUS in person. You’ve got to see all the great detail. Loved it at first sight. She was selling it for a mere 165 Euro which is ridicoulos. The problem was, that it is way too large to fit in any of my rooms. That painting needs  a lot of space. But as a matter of fact: if I had the right place for it, I would have bought it right there and then.

Other paintings.

And here are her figurines, this time they have a more somber feeling to it… The white one in the back is made of silicone.img_3295

If you live in the area and want to have a closer look at her work, the exhibition is running from October 30 to November 25, 2016. Opening times are Mon – Thur 10:00h – 16:00h. Address: Galerie SPD – Schlossstraße 2 – 42551 Velbert.

After that we went back to my apartment with U before heading to DaVinci restaurant in Velbert for a late lunch/early dinner.

While I hadn’t thought about it earlier, I knew it when I checked the menue: This would be another #fuckdiet day. No salad! I eat salad 6 days a week. Now it was time for Schnitzel and fries with mayo. Mmmmhhh!!! (I didn’t even finish the salad on the side 😉 )

One thought on “October 30

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    A what??? vernissage? WTF is that? Runs to Google. “a private viewing of paintings before public exhibition.” Ohhhh! Learn something new every day.

    I remember N and her work. Very cool that you went again.

    Gimme that fooooooooooooooooooood.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

