December 26

Movies & Hot Chocolate

2nd day of Christmas is the day when people leave their houses again to… I don’t know… do things like going to the movies, eating out, going for walks, visitng relatives they haven’t visited on the 1st day… things like that.

We, of course, went to the movies. Hadn’t done this for more than two weeks because of The Illness, and we were already suffering a bit of a withdrawal.

Started with Rogue One – A Star Wars Story.

Let me tell you first that I am not a Star Wars nerd. I haven’t seen a single one of these movies and back in the 70s, when it all came up, I could only watch with with an open mouth how big of a deal these movies were to many people and how beloved the characters were and how Harrisson Ford, Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher (R.I.P.!) rose to fame with them.

I never had even the slightest interest… I was never a fan of sci-fi or fantasy at all. Not even in later years, after discovering that not all sci-fi and fantasy movies are bad and that I actually DO like some of them very much.

No trailer for any of these movies has ever made me rethink that.

It was until now, where I said to S “do we want to see this one?” “Why not”, she replied. But although I had heard that this was basically a stand-alone movie, not an awful lot connected to the other ones in the series, I wasn’t sure if it made sense to see it with not even ONE movie of the series under my belt. S had at least seen the first one and had liked it back then.

Then I asked someone in the know on Twitter if that movie would be okay for people who had never seen a Star Wars movie. Answer: yes it is, because the events in the movie take place before the events of the very first movie.

Then I read all the raaaaaaaaving reviews by the fans and also the critics, how awesome that movie would be. Alright then. I’ve discovered Harry Potter this year, so why not also Star Wars. Always stay open-minded!

The Verdict: ‘t was alright. It wasn’t boring, the story was enganging enough to keep my full attention for the full two hours. It was well acted, the CGI was fine. Saw Voldemort Darth Vader for the first time live on a movie screen, but surely missed a ton of references to the series that were buried here and there and easily to recognize for the nerds, yet not for me.

And so I’m probably not a very reliable source for an opinion about this movie. I can’t say where it stands in the whole Star Wars universe. As  I said, the fans seem to be mostly happy with it, and at least it didn’t bore me to tears but it was two hours of good entertainment. That’s all I can really say about it.

Trailer:

Second movie of the day was the animated movie Sing. Already the trailers had looked adorable and so was the movie. We both LOVED it (albeit not as much as Zootopia which remains to be the fave animated movie of the year – there’s no excuse if you haven’t seen it yet 😉 )

But all these animal characters taking place in a casting show to save a theater… it was delightful! If you like the trailer, you’ll love the movie.

Back at home it was time for a yummy hot chocolate. No whipped cream. Saving some calories 😉

2 thoughts on “December 26

  1. The Intrepid Angeleno

    I’ve been waiting to see Sing ever since they first started showing ads for it like a year ago or more. Reminds me of American Idol. LOL It’s playing at my local theater over in Highland (the twin cinema…LOL) but Mom refuses to be seen in public and I can’t leave her alone so…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

