December 30

This is a Cappuccino…

… that we drank after we ate salad at restaurant Farina in Essen between seeing two movies.

The movies were:

Allied, starring Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard and despite the movie looking very well made with a certain old Hollywood glamour factor and a story that could have been captivating, it never really clicked with me. It took too long until the story started to pick up and then I never found it in any way touching or shocking or suprising or suspense-packed. Not even the ending, which was… I don’t know… supposed to be shocking?… failed to touch me deeper. It wasn’t the fault of the two main actors. They did their job very well… I can’t put my finger on it. Something was missing here.

Nocturnal Animals which has got to be one of, if not THE best movies I’ve seen in 2016. Had I already high hopes and high expectations (which can turn out to be a problem), it 100% met ALL my expectations and high hopes.

A great and intelligent 3-layered story which was never confusing but had me on the edge of my seat for the whole time. I had already liked Tom Ford’s debut as a director in 2012, A Single Man, starring Colin Firth. And with his 2nd movie he proves that he’s not only an A-list haute couture designer but can hold his place among the big names in directing. Amy Adams and Jake Gyllenhaal were amazing in their roles, as were all the other actors down to the supporting roles. It’s so refreshing to see a movie where everything fits: from the top screenplay to the breathtaking and very stylish cinematography to a well-chosen cast. All too often these days there’s so much crap coming out of Hollywood. This is a very welcome change from all the sequels, prequels, franchises, superheroes, bad comedies and sci-fi battles out there. Highly recommended!

One thought on “December 30

Leave a Reply

