February 20

IMG_2121

Okay, let’s get right to the movie topic of the day since we saw three of them today. I was looking forward to all three of them and went in with high, but not too high expectations.

First movie was Deadpool. Unless you’re completely not interested in movies, there can’t be a way you haven’t heard about the latest Marvel (Anti-)Superhero. The flick breaks records left and right and people basically go apeshit about how incredibly awesome and funny Deadpool – the movie and the character – is.

Well.

It’s not that it hasn’t happened before. That the world thinks a movie is totally The Shit, and I come out, irritated that I have wasted two hours of my life. Which is exactly the case with Deadpool. I’m sorry to say that I found none of those lines – and there were a billion of them… the whole movie was practically “funny lines” – were in any way, shape or form funny to me. This is definitely not my kind of humor. I see though, that this kind of humor is appealing to a lot of people. It’s probably the same people who see movies like Bad Neighbors or Dirty Grandpa and die laughing.

Whatever the case – I didn’t see this coming since I normally love everything that Marvel puts out there. Even the quite crazy Guardians of the Galaxy which I thought I would hate and then thoroughly enjoyed.

I’m not saying: don’t see Deadpool. Too many people seem to totally love it and I’m sure that S (who is with me in this case) and I are the odd ones out here. You’ll probably pee your pants when you see it.

Second was Hail, Ceasar!, a movie that “… follows a day in the life of Eddie Mannix (Josh Brolin), a Hollywood fixer for Capitol Pictures in the 1950s, who cleans up and solves problems for big names and stars in the industry. But when studio star Baird Whitlock (George Clooney) disappears, Mannix has to deal with more than just the fix. ” (<- synopsis taken from Imdb.com)

It was a really good satire on the Hollywood film industry in the 50s with an all-star cast and wonderful and funny references to the typical movies of that time. There was Scarlett Johannson in an Esther Williams water ballet sequence, Channing Tatum played a GREAT part in a Gene Kelly like dancing/singing sequence and there was the really awesome Alden Ehrenreich as a Western hero. But you don’t have to love old Hollywood movies to enjoy this latest movie by the great Cohen Brothers.

I’ve read quite some average-to-bad reviews about this one though and it’s probably another proof that I have a different taste than the regular movie goer at times.

Third and last movie was Concussion, a true story about Dr. Bennet Omalu, a pathologist who finds out about a certain brain damage that football players get because of concussions that happen during the play. Some former players have died from it or have committed suicide. Dr. Omalu blames the NFL for not protecting their players and speaking openly about the health risks of that game. Problem is, that you don’t just come along and shit on the NFL. It’s the bloody N F L !

I know that the movie got some critical reviews because people thought the NFL gets away too easily in the end and that the movie makers didn’t really dare to hit harder. I don’t know enough about American Football and the NFL and the whole topic to be able to judge that I guess. All I can say is that I found it pretty shocking what that Doctor has found out and how he was treated because of that. Thought that Will Smith did a very good job.

Our ranking from this movie day from best to worst is

Hail, Ceasar!
Concussion





Deadpool

But before we even went up to the theater, we had again coffee & cake from Otto Bittner. They have the most yummy cakes and pastries.

IMG_2123

 

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “February 20

Leave a comment